Firefox won’t browse, an IPv6 issue

I just found a bug (or maybe just -not-for-this-time-technology-issue-) that causing my notebook won’t browse anywhere. I found this bug this morning when I’m trying to connect my notebook (which now become my father/sister notebook) on his office …

Here are the symptoms:

  1. I plugged the Wired LAN cable
  2. I succesfully connected to DHCP server
  3. I got an IP address
  4. But I can’t browse anywhere! Firefox keeps telling me that she is “Waiting for google.com…”

So, with a little search on google (from another PC of course), I found that the bug is somehow associated with IPv6 DNS binding (or something like that, I’m not the expert here). So, the solution is go to Firefox, open “about:config” on the Address bar, and from the filter find “ipv6”. This will come with a line “network.dns.disableIPv6”. Double click that line so the Value will changed into “True” and restart Firefox.

Hope this will help someone ^^

PS: There is someone out there that suggesting if I want to disable ipv6 system-wide, then I should put a line “blacklist ipv6” on /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist. I still don’t know how to test this, but for now I think my Dad is only need Firefox to run properly …^^

Update

With some googling again, I found another trick to disable IPv6 system-wide:

  1. Open /etc/modprobe.d/aliases
  2. Search for a line which have “alias net-pf-10 ipv6”, replace it with “alias net-pf-10 off #ipv6”
  3. Open /etc/hosts
  4. Comment out every line that have something to do with IPv6. In my case, I just comment out every line that have “ipv6”
  5. For safety reason (gyagyagya I just love saying this line), reboot your box

I try this setting plus the blacklist trick and re-disabled the Firefox configuration I tell you before, and it works. One thing is until now Pidgin still can’t connect to Yahoo. Try to solve this later …

5 thoughts on “Firefox won’t browse, an IPv6 issue

  1. (which now become my father/sister notebook)

    lah jadi dirimu bawa notbuk baru nih?

    asik makan-makan… 😀

  2. Lo, kowe tuku macbook air ora omong2? wah,yen ngunu biaya administrasi kasurku ditambah noooo … PPn macbook air: 50 rebo!

  3. Interesting. I’m interested in hearing more. Could you do a WireShark or tcpdump capture when you have IPv6 enabled? I’d love to see what FireFox is doing, DNS-wise.

  4. Perasaan /etc/hosts saya dan config firefox masih ada embel2 ipv6 tuh..Tapi browsing ria masih bisa kok….

  5. eh ada Toni…
    Hai Tonceh™ 😀

    *numpang junk 😛

Leave a Reply

