Ubuntu 7.10 on Lenovo G400

After three years using Compaq M2232, few days ago my father call me and said that want he to take it and use it for my sister (since she must go to college and need a computer). So, it means I must find a new one for me (*giggles*). So, last Friday I went to some store and find new notebook. And you may believe or not, I spent 2.5 hours standing in front of the list of model just to find out wich one to buy. At first I want to buy Acer 4920 (which have ultimate specification and features on it, as you may see here), or Compaq 3736 (less spec and feature than that Acer), Lenovo Y410, or Lenovo G400. Well in the end I made up my mind and pick Lenovo G400, with financial and of course operating system reason. Yeah! Just like my old notebooks, I didn’t want this notebook to know Windows from the beginning.
And I didn’t want to waste my money to some features that I might not use. Better use it for buying a new shoes ^^

So, there I go, Rp 6.300.000,00 for a black G400 plus added 1G RAM (wich make it 2G of RAM). Yayyy!!!

And here are the result …

  • Graphic Card is supported well, can run 1280 x 800 resolution
  • Sounds is supported, but with a little bit trick if I’m using headsets. The speaker on the notebook is still creating a sound (eventough only a small sounds) everytime the headphone jack is plugged. So, I must mute the Front speaker to disable that sound leakage.
  • Wireless must use the Restricted Driver Manager. Before it, I must install bcm43xx-fwcutter package so that Ubuntu could search for the right driver for it.
  • CPU Frequency Scaling is works. Just one little annoying bugs is somehow with this Core Duo architecture the fan wont stop spinning all the time. Checked with temperature monitor it only shows 50 celcius degree. Dunno why, but hope that it wont break the fan.
  • Multimedia button works, also volume and brightness button too.
  • Visual Effect runs
  • It fast!!!! 2G RAM is very very great! I could run both Eclipse and netbeans on the same time, plus with visual effect. Awesome ^^

Oh yea, and at last … I migrate to Gnome! Well, just looks for it’s minimalistic but elegant face. And of course, seeing KDE4 somehow dissapointed me T_T …

update: here are some screenshot

20 thoughts on “Ubuntu 7.10 on Lenovo G400

  1. Hey Alvonsius, I’m looking at exactly that machine and
    wondering if ubuntu 7.10 will run on it.

    Sounds like it does. I’ve probably got a couple of
    weeks or a month before I buy. So I’d be delighted
    if you’d keep us posted on the level of your satisfaction
    with the machine.

    Thanks for posting to begin with!

  2. Have you tried recording from a microphone? I cannot seem to do that on my desktop machine. Different audio chipset, no doubt.

  3. Hi John, thanks for coming to my blog ^^

    I’ve tried to record my voice using the built-in microphone, and seems no problem with that.
    Maybe you should try adjusting your “Capture” or “Front Mic” or “Mic Boost” slider on your volume manager.

    Hope it will help you ^^

  4. I don’t yet have a lenovo g400. I was speaking about my white box desktop system with an asus motherboard and Nvidia CK804 chipset. I’m glad to hear that recording works on the lenovo. I think I am going to buy one. Due to your encouraging remarks.

  5. Is there anyway to get TV output from the machine? I ask that because the school at which I work has a “sound lab” that can accept only RCA plug input.

  6. […] believe what he said. So, when today I looked at my just-moved-database (yeah, since I already moved to a new machine, so I have to move my database as well), as you may already guess, I was somehow surprised knowing […]

  7. #john
    Humm, about the TV-out thing, I don’t think that this notebook can do the work. I didn’t see any TV-out port on this notebook.

    But I think maybe there might be an usb-to-rca connector out there on the store that you can use. I haven’t search it yet, but somehow it make sense if someone has invented that tool ^^

    Uh, this might be out-of-topic, but I found out that the touchpad is not easy to handle. Sometimes it became sensitive, sometimes (or often) it doesn’t … pretty much annoying ^^

  8. Hi Alvonsius,
    Thanks for your sharing. I want to buy G400 too.
    Did you buy it in Jakarta? Can you tell me the name of the store and location?
    Is Rp. 6.300.000 included the additional 1GB ram?
    Thanks.

  9. I think that you should bring me “sesajen” for you new G 400 😀

    That sounds great and i think i will try touching that’s kinda “alvonsius matter”
    Wekekek

  10. #fajar
    Actually the price at Jogjakarta (where I bought it) is between 5.8 until 5.9 (you may check on Bhinneka, they sale stuff at their highest price ^^). I bought it at Harrisma. At the time I bought it I got 5.9 for the price. So, with 1G RAM at price of 400k (and you may get lower price from other store at jogja, let just say 350k), it become 6.3 million …

    I’m sure there are lower price in Jakarta, maybe in Glodok ^^

    PS: For you all who want to buy G400, maybe it will worth if you wait for the G410 series. I think it will gonna come out soon. Why I’m so sure? Coz on the manual book it states “For G400/G410”. Maybe it will come with bundled bluetooth adapter … G400 doesn’t have it …

    #enggar
    what do you mean by “alvonsius matter” ???

  11. Hi Alvons,
    Thanks for the tip. I guess I will wait for the G410 🙂
    Hopefully it will still have the 120GB harddrive.

  12. I got my G400 last friday 🙂
    Just installed Gutsy on it but haven’t played it around because I’m teaching this weekend. The wireless is not detected properly though?

    And.. you’re right. The touchpad feeling is a bit sensitive sometimes. Not so responsive sometimes. Hopefully we can adjust it from Gutsy. The sound is not as crispy as Compaq V3000 (it’s using Altec Lansing of course :))

  13. Hi Alvons,
    Still haven’t got much time tinkering my G400.
    After two days, now my wireless is connected using restricted driver. Strange it took so long.

    Alvons, I want to ask, what do you do to prolong the battery-life? Some friends suggest me to take off the battery when we use AC power. Is it true?

  14. *ngeces*

    With 120GB HDD and 2G of RAM, it’s like my workstation on a portable version …

    ebuset, jadi pgn laptop juga..tapi buat apa ya? Jakarta is a crazy city leaving me with 3 hours each night and 2 days on weekend .. meh

  15. Hi Alvons,
    I think the touchpad is becoming annoying. It’s over sensitive sometimes, but most of the time it’s just not responsive. I mean, when we move our finger on it, it sometimes fails to respond as much as we like it. I try to adjust the settings from Gutsy but it gives no effect. Do you have any suggestion?
    Thanks

  16. #toni
    3 hours each night??? gosh, i need 6 hours sleep each day … so I’m automagically rejected from that city then wkwkwkwk …

    #fajar
    yeah, It’s really annoying me too. But somehow now I’m getting used to it, so for me it only need a little bit patient when dragging my finger on it … using mouse is really suggested ^^
    The only thing I did was turn off the “Tap to click” on touchpad setting, so it won’t disturb me when I’m typing.

  17. Hi Alvons,
    I have news for you. When I was browsing through package manager, I saw that there is a package called xfree86-driver-synaptics. So I installed it (thus removing ubuntu-synaptics package). Now, pointer acceleration works. But, vertical scrolling is lost. Well I thought I need the acceleration more than the vertical scroll so I stick with this driver.

    Also about the wireless. I have problem when many times my notebook fails to connect to my linksys wrt45gl router with error “cannot get ip from dhcp”. So, I follow this tutorial http://invaleed.wordpress.com/2007/11/20/install-bcm94311mcg-wlan-mini-pci-ubuntu-710/ and it works OK. I think the ndiswrapper package from Ubuntu has a bug.
    Well, that’s my reporting. So far I love my G400 🙂

  18. Hi Alvons,
    There’s a bug in synaptics config. So, no matter how we increase the acceleration, it won’t update the xorg.conf.

    We must set it manually in xorg.conf:
    Section “InputDevice”
    Identifier “Synaptics Touchpad”
    Driver “synaptics”
    Option “SendCoreEvents” “true”
    Option “Device” “/dev/psaux”
    Option “Protocol” “auto-dev”
    Option “HorizEdgeScroll” “0”
    Option “SHMConfig” “on”
    Option “MinSpeed” “1.0”
    Option “MaxSpeed” “1.0”
    Option “AccelFactor” “0.3”
    EndSection

    Restart X.
    It works 🙂

  19. […] 29, 2008 · Filed under Daily Blog, Tech Update Few days ago, Fajar told me a bug about Gutsy’s bundled Broadcom driver that can’t get IP address from Linksys WRT45GL access po…. And he pointed me to Invaleed’s blog that have the solution for it. At first, as always, I […]

Leave a Reply

